Draftmanship

Standard

For the past 3 weeks of my drawing course, we have been practicing the art of draftmanship using still life. We learnt about how to arrange the still life (In a triangular, curved, or diagonal pattern), and how to use draftmanship to get the proportions correct on the page. At the end of this ‘unit’, we practiced gestures and foreshortening using a model. This was my first time drawing a live model, and it was a very interesting experience

It has been a really steep and extremely useful learning curve.

I have gone through nearly a pad of paper during class, but most of the sketches are EXTREMELY rough, so here are some of the more-completed drafts that I have been working on. All of these drawings are on 18 x 24 inch cartridge paper

1.This was a still life using black charcoal pencil. When I got the angles and proportions correct, I decided to outline it, but my professor gave me feedback that the lines were too thick. I tried to improve that for future drawings

2. This was a still life using a sepia conte pencil. This was my first time using it, so I experimented with the shading after (Shading hasn’t been covered in class, and we’re not really supposed to be focusing on it at this point). I LOVED the pencil, and I am really excited about trying out more drawings with it. I’m not sure if this is clear, but this picture has a small box, a tray, a squash, a crab, some grapes, a plum, a candle stand, and a sheet of music notes. A triangular pattern was used for this still life setup

3. This was another still life of a small statue. One half had a layer of skin pulled off, and the other half had a layer of skin and a layer of muscles removed. I used black HB conte pencil. I like the conte more than the charcoal for thin lines, because it doesn’t smudge as much.

4. The next two drawings are from the “model” class. I used sanguine conte chalk for this drawing. I liked the chalk for the rough lines, and finally got the hang of keeping the lines really light. If you are interested in seeing them, click on the links below.

Leave a Reply

