Skull on Toned Paper

Standard

In my drawing class last night, I had my first experience with working on toned paper. I used Willow Charcoal to shade the paper in. I used a kneaded and clic eraser to get the highlights, and layered on more willow charcoal to get the darks. Willow charcoal erases VERY easily. Too easily. It was a challenge at first, because when I touched my hand on the paper, everything would wipe away, but I soon got the hang of it. I eventually used a charcoal pencil to emphasize the darks.

This was the result of three hours of class time (I am always SO much more productive in the classroom atmosphere than I am at home!). Of course it’s not complete. I still need to add a few more cast shadows (To the bone on the left etc.), but overall I was pleased with the result considering it was my first time doing anything like this. If I could redo it, I would definitely use a higher quality paper. I used regular 18×24 inch cartridge paper for this exercise, and it wasn’t great for the constant erasing. I am actually getting the hang of working on such a big scale though! I really like the dramatic effect the size has on the drawings.

Here it is- Just in time for Halloween!

Leave a Reply

