Gargoyle

Standard

I was recently going through my Gallery, and I came across this drawing that I hadn’t published yet. This is one of the drawings that we did during my 3 hour class. Our teacher hung a ‘gargoyle’ on the wall, and used what is conveniently called “monster lighting”- lighting from below. I used toned Canson Mi Tiente 20×24” paper, and Nu Pastels for this drawing. I used only black and white Nu Pastels, and used the paper as the mid tone. It was my first experience with Pastels and I liked it! Though I enjoyed self toning my paper for the Dinosaur Skull, I definitely liked the dramatic impact that the commercially toned paper gave. The Nu Pastels aren’t very forgiving, as they’re definitely not erasable, so I used regular graphite pencil to make a rough outline before getting into the drawing.

Here’s the entire work in progress, with my end of class result at the end. Scary eh?

 

Leave a Reply

