7 Days of Christmas Day 4- Christmas Cookie Cutter Cookies

Standard

Last week, for a small Christmas gathering we had at home, my sister and I made nearly 100 cookie cutter cookies for gifts bags, and party snacking. These cookies were the BEST sugar cookies i’ve had, and the icing turned out great! I used THIS recipe, and used simple cookie cutters that I got from Walmart.

In my modified recipe I used 50% of the egg quantity, and used the following ‘egg recipe’ for the rest:

1 egg = 2 tbsp water + 1 tbsp oil + 2 tsp baking powder

The cookie dough MUST be refridgerated over night. I wrapped the dough in wax paper, and then secured it with cling wrap to make it air tight. When working with the dough the next day, we kept it in room temperature for 1/2 an hour or so before starting, but it was still hard. We used a knife to cut the dough into slabs, kneaded the dough, then we rolled it on a powdered surface.

Once you get the hang of it it’s extremely quick and easy, and the results are professional!

To make the icing, we used the following recipe

1 cup icing sugar + 3 teaspoons milk + 2 teaspoon light corn syrup.

I didn’t have corn syrup at home, so I made some myself. I boiled 1 part water, then added two parts powdered sugar (NOT icing sugar). I boiled it until the sugar dissolved, then added a few drops of vanilla extract. I doubled the icing quantity and it was good for about 20 cookies.

From the picture above, you can also tell that we made a batch of ‘Smore’s cookies‘.

Outside this gorgeous white tree in the Downtown Path, many pretty tables have been set up where anyone is free to enjoy their lunch. Almost every day this week, there has been live music entertaining all those who pass by.

Leave a Reply

