Bharathanatyam Oil Painting

Standard

This 32×32 inch oil painting on canvas is based on a picture from my own Bharathanatyam Arangetram (Dance ‘graduation’) in 2009. My arangetram was one of the highlights of my life, and that makes this painting personal on so many different levels. The photographer, Manpreet Uncle at “Mansa Photography“, captured the entire event so beautifully! If you haven’t already visited the Mansa Photography website, click here to see more stunning dance photos.

Nearly two months ago, I posted a first rough layer of this very painting, and have been putting in 2-4 hours a week since then . It is the longest time I have ever spent on a single artwork!  When I first started oil painting with my AMAZING teacher last summer, I wasn’t sure if I could stick to something that took so much time. There’s no going back now! :)

3 responses »

Leave a Reply

